Province de Luxembourg
Diputación de Cáceres Diputación de Sevilla Province de Luxembourg Staffordshire Country Council Diputación de Almería Provincia de León Province de Liège Provincia di Terni Diputacion de Segovia Cittá metropolitana di Roma Diputacio Tarragona Province du Bravant wallon Diputación de Badajoz Deputación de Ourense Diputació de València Provincia di Isernia Diputación de Castellón Province de Hainaut


Province de Luxembourg

Album title: Province de Luxembourg
Background information
  • Country: Belgium
  • Region: Wallonie
  • Population of the region: 3.500.000 inhabitants
  • Province: Luxembourg
    • Population: 274.000 inhabitants
    • Surface area: 4.440 km²
    • Administrative centre: Arlon (28.259 habitants)
    • Administrative arrondissements: Arlon, Bastogne, Marche-en-Famenne, Neufchâteau, Virton
    • Deputy- head of the provincial College : Patrick ADAM
    • Governor: Bernard CAPRASSE

The provincial competences have two facets:
On the one hand, the provinces act as subordinated powers: they are in charge of the execution of the decisions taken by a higher power (State, Community, and Region)
On the other hand, the provinces are autonomous regional authorities acting for the provincial interests and specifically in all the disciplines that are not excluded by the Constitution, by a law or a decree. Therefore, the provinces are competent in various matters such as:

  • agriculture
  • culture
  • environment
  • economy
  • health
  • tourism
  • social matters
  • education

In the case of those disciplines, the province acts as part of the local autonomy.

Major activity sectors in the Province of Luxembourg: agribusiness, medical and biotechnical, wood, construction, logistics, spatial

European Programs in which the province has been involved
  • Interreg
  • Feder
European Network in which the province is a member
  • Partenalia
  • Europe-Direct


Rue Marie de Bourgogne 13, 3 étage
B-1050 Brussels (Belgium)
Phone: +32 27336595